top of page

The quartet

The Four Times a Lady Guitar Quartet represents four professional guitarists,An Vlaemynck, Leen Langenbick, Lore Raus and Willemijn Vermeir. The Quartet brings contemporary music. Each piece was originally composed for four guitars, allowing the virtuosity of this unique line-up to be fully appreciated. The possibilities of the instrument are fully utilized by these four virtuosos and are expressed in a harmonious and enchanting interplay.

In February 2008, Four Times a Lady made her debut with the renowned Baltic Guitar Quartet. The quartet then consisted of Tania D'Hoest, Veerle D'Hoest, Sarah Vandendriessche and Leen Langenbick. They gave a concert together in the Ryelandtzaal in Bruges. In May of that year they performed during 'Klara in de stad' in Izegem, where their performance was heard live on the radio with works by Patrick Roux and Francis Kleynjans. They also created Summer Moon Dance by the Belgian composer Gilbert Isbin. 

In 2011, Sarah Vandendriessche left the quartet and was replaced by Willemijn Vermeir. In November 2012 they launched their first CD "Here and Now". During 2013 and 2014 they performed at the International Guitar Symposium in Iserlohn, Germany, where they gave several highly acclaimed concerts. In 2015 they performed on stage at the 'Museo de Bellas Artes' in Valencia, Spain, and at 'Wasserburg Haus zum Haus' in Düsseldorf, Germany.

In 2015 they took Leen Langenbick's chamber music exam and obtained a Master's degree in chamber music with the highest distinction at the Luca School of Arts, formerly the Lemmens Institute in Leuven. That year they also performed at the CC De Grote Post in Ostend and in January 2016 they gave a sold-out concert in the chamber music hall of the Concertgebouw in Bruges. There they created the piece "Ficciones" by the Flemish composer Petra Vermote, specially composed for Four Times a Lady. In addition to their many performances in cultural centers, they have also performed at various smaller events, living room concerts and for associations during their nine-year existence. The latter is particularly important to them because of the intense and warm contact they can have with the audience.

At the beginning of 2017, Tania and Veerle D'Hoest decided to leave the quartet and Willemijn and Leen welcomed two new guitarists, An Vlaemynck and Phyllis Demylle.

All four of them, as soloists, but also as a quartet, followed numerous Masterclasses in Europe with world-famous guitarists including John Dearman, William Kanengiser (Los Angeles Guitar Quartet), Jorge Caballero, Matthew McAllister, Alfonso Montes, Denis Azabagic, Eden-Stell Guitar Duo and Katona Twins. 

In 2018 they collaborated with visual artist Emma Pollet and Hooman Jeddy, who enhanced the music through video installations. The various natural elements present in the music were given an extra dimension by adding images. They were again guests at the Guitar Symposium in Iserlohn in the summer of 2018 to concert and teach. 

Since September 2019, Four Times a Lady consists of An Vlaemynck, Leen Langenbick, Lore Raus and Willemijn Vermeir. They worked intensively on a new program that resulted in a new album 'Danse d'eau'.

chair pink high resolution_edited.jpg
De Ladies

The Ladies

The quartet consists of 4 professional guitarists

bottom of page